Medical Astrology

The Signs of the Zodiac and Medical Astrology

Part V

Sections 26.1

A good way to begin your understanding of medical astrology is to gain an understanding of how the signs of the zodiac relate to the body.   Generally speaking, the signs of the zodiac rule  the anatomical locations in the body beginning with Aries for the head and ending with Pisces for the feet.

Aries: the first sign of the zodiac, can refer to heat and inflammation.  It can refer to feverish complaints.  As the first sign of the zodiac, it is the general ruler of the head and brain and all injuries or complaints of the head.  As one delves further into medical astrology, one will note that various parts of the head can refer to other signs — such as Capricorn for the teeth and Cancer for the sinus cavities.  But, in a general way, all complaints of the head area relate to Aries.

Taurus: is a sign which helps in the support and endurance of the body.  It generally refers to the throat, tonsils, and the thyroid gland. In relation to the face, it also rules the gums and the middle ear.

Gemini: is a sign associated with communication and connectivity. It rules the tubes of the body and has general rulership over the nervous system and the lungs. Following Taurus, the neck, Gemini rules the arms and shoulders.

Cancer: is a water sign which can nurture and protect.  It rules all coverings and containers in the body such as the chest cavity, the stomach, the breasts, and the uterus.  It also rules the mucous membranes.

Leo: another fire sign, is a sign of energy and vitality. It rules the muscular portion of the heart, the spine and middle back.

Virgo: rules the processes of assimilation, selection and the process of discrimination. It rules the small intestine, the pancreas, duodenum, and the enzyme production of the liver.

Libra: is a sign of balance.  It rules the vasomotor system, the lower back (lumbar region), the glandular vascular part of the kidney and the skin as it relates cosmetically.

Scorpio: is a sign of elimination, rules bodily outlets and procreative processes. It rules the colon, bladder, the large intestine, rectum, vagina, testes and prostate gland.

Sagittarius: is a sign of locomotion.  It rules the hips and thighs,  the sciatic nerve, and the liver.

Capricorn: refers to limitation and the process of hardening.  It rules the skin  and also rules the knees, hair, nails, teeth and cell walls.

Aquarius: can refer to rare illnesses and nervous ailments. It is involved in blood circulation and the oxidation processes in the body. It rules the lower leg, calf and ankles, and the valves of the heart.

Pisces: can refer to diseases that are hard to diagnose or cure.  Pisces can refer to incurable diseases.  It rules the feet and toes, the lymphatic system, and the spleen in its lymphatic role.

The above is a brief introduction to Medical Astrology.  For more details, including more case studies and a listing of the astrological significators for many disease states, you can purchase her book How to Give an Astrological Health Reading.

For more information on Diane Cramer and her Medical Astrology services, you can also e-mail her at

Articles and transcribed lectures on medical astrology from resident astrologer Diane Cramer. Click here for information on her newest article on astrology and weight gain and weight loss. Watch here for more articles by Diane and also by Bob Marks.

Disclaimer:  The material in this chapter is for instructional purposes only and is not intended, nor meant to replace or to be used for the purpose of a medical diagnosis. Ms. Cramer is not a medical doctor nor physician. For a medical diagnosis – see a licensed medical doctor or physician.

“Be prepared for your future” check out Bob Marks Monthly Forecasts ! click here

In Tune With The Universe

Subscribe Today to receive news or additions to this site sent straight to your inbox